Photography

Lately I have been bitten by the photography bug.  At first I couldn’t explain why.  I really enjoyed photography when I was younger in my teens and 20’s.  Looking back on it, I don’t exactly know why I gave up on photography.  Sure, I take pictures of family events and things like that, but I don’t necessarily get into the artistic facet of photography anymore.

In my meditations, something started to emerge.  I have wrestled with the notion that I had become jaded with life.  Why is this?  Well, I guess it is due in part to that whole mid-life crisis thing.  At this point in life, you become a machine.  You go to work 40+ hours a week and just try to have enough energy to make it to Friday so you can collapse on the weekends.  Everything is pretty much the same as the day before.  Nothing really changes.  Remember being a kid and it seemed like the days lasted forever (in a good way) and there was so much to learn, do, and see?  You became fascinated with everything around you.  Maybe I am different than others here, but that is how it was for me growing up.  I could sit and stare at an ant colony for hours at a time. 

Again, back to my meditations, I noticed that I needed to “wake up” (again).  I needed to change my perceptions on how I saw things.  I needed to rip the veneer of life off and the cruft that had built up over time and return to seeing things differently.  I wanted to not just see a bird, but really SEE that bird.  The colors of its wings (well, the colors I can see), the shape of its beak, the look in its eyes.  Sure, it might be just another black capped chickadee, but this particular one that I am looking at has a story to tell if I would just pay attention.  I realized what I was looking for was to put my photographer’s eyes back into my head.  I wanted to see the glint of sunshine on the gossamer wings of a dragon fly or the dew on a spider web early in the morning as if I was seeing it all for the first time.  Photography has a tendency to make you slow down and take it all in and study the subject matter and then try to capture that instant of time.  In the very least, I am hoping this will be a step in the right direction.

Now it is time to grab the camera and go sit and stare at that ant hill for a few hours. 

About bradymacdonald
Just a dood in the toobs.

Leave a Reply

