What Super Bowl?

I know what I am about to say is somewhat sacrilegious especially being an American male in his forties. 

I don’t watch the Super Bowl.

There, I said it.  I haven’t watched any of the three major US sports (football, basketball, and baseball) in probably four years.  One of the reasons I gave up on it all was the amount of commercialization that has taken over the professional and even college sport scene.  I remember when I lived in Tampa Florida, they had a measure on the ballot to use public money to help build a new stadium.  The theory was if you help the owners of the franchise build a newer, bigger sports arena, more jobs would come to the area, so it was a win-win situation.  However, their facts were wrong.  It was definitely skewed in the favor of the owners of the teams and a select group of individuals who were going to make a ton of money.  Of course the voters agreed to it as there were a bunch of very well done ads to support the measure.  Meanwhile you drive around town on some REALLY crappy roads, the schools were having major issues with overcrowding, unemployment funding for training people was cut etc. For some reason there was no money for those projects.  It was at that point I saw how things worked.  Keep the sports fanatics happy with putting on the show every few weeks all the while the fans buy their $7.50 a glass beer and $6 a bag of peanuts and paying $20 to park and buying their season tickets to “root for THEIR team”.  Whatever. 

I know I am not able to keep up with the conversations at work or wherever when someone is rooting for their teams and talk about the latest trades or player stats.  I didn’t even know who was in the Super Bowl until I was on a news website this morning.  Yeah, I am out of this loop completely.

As a kid I liked watching Monday Night football and catching some hoops on TV every now and then. I guess over the years I just lost interest in the whole affair.  The only sport I watch now is the rugby world championships.  It only takes up a few weeks a year and it is a fun sport to watch in my book. 

Time to go watch some of the Super Bowl ads on the internet.  They are best thing about the Super Bowl anyways.

About bradymacdonald
Just a dood in the toobs.

Leave a Reply

